Readers ask: What Are The 12 Facial Nerves?

The 12 Cranial Nerves

  • I. Olfactory nerve.
  • II. Optic nerve.
  • III. Oculomotor nerve.
  • IV. Trochlear nerve.
  • V. Trigeminal nerve.
  • VI. Abducens nerve.
  • VII. Facial nerve.
  • VIII. Vestibulocochlear nerve.

What is the 12 nerve?

olfactory, optic, oculomotor, trochlear, trigeminal, abducens, facial, vestibulocochlear, glossopharyngeal, vagus, spinal accessory, hypoglossal. Still can’t remember the cranial nerves? Perhaps you need some Cranial Nerve Bookmarks to help you study!

What are the 12 cranial nerves called?

In higher vertebrates (reptiles, birds, mammals) there are 12 pairs of cranial nerves: olfactory (CN I), optic (CN II), oculomotor (CN III), trochlear (CN IV), trigeminal (CN V), abducent (or abducens; CN VI), facial (CN VII), vestibulocochlear (CN VIII), glossopharyngeal (CN IX), vagus (CN X), accessory (CN XI), and

Where are the 12 cranial nerves?

The 12 cranial nerves extend from your brain and brain stem, responsible for helping you control different motor and sensory functions. Twelve cranial nerves extend from your brain and brain stem, responsible for helping you control different motor and sensory functions.

You might be interested:  Often asked: How Fast Is A Lightsail?

What are the 12 cranial nerves Mnemonic?

Ooh, Ooh, Ooh, to touch and feel very good velvet. Such heaven! (mnemonic) Mnemonics

  • O: olfactory nerve (CN I)
  • O: optic nerve (CN II)
  • O: oculomotor nerve (CN III)
  • T: trochlear nerve (CN IV)
  • T: trigeminal nerve(CN V)
  • A: abducens nerve (CN VI)
  • F: facial nerve (CN VII)
  • A: auditory (or vestibulocochlear) nerve (CN VIII)

What is the 13th cranial nerve?

The thirteenth cranial nerve, commonly referred to as the nervus terminalis or terminal nerve, is a highly conserved multifaceted nerve found just above the olfactory bulbs in humans and most vertebrate species. In most forms its fibers course from the rostral portion of the brain to the olfactory and nasal epithelia.

Which is the facial nerve?

The facial nerve is the 7th cranial nerve and carries nerve fibers that control facial movement and expression. The facial nerve exits the base of the skull at the stylomastoid foramen, which is an opening in the bone located near the base of the ear.

Do all mammals have 12 pairs of cranial nerves?

There are 12 pairs of cranial nerves in mammals including olfactory, visual, oculomotor, trochlear, trigeminal, abducens, facial, vestibulocochlear, glossopharyngeal, vagus, peripheral, and hypoglossal. So, 12 pairs of cranial nerves in mammals would be the correct answer. Hence, The correct answer is option (C).

What are the 4 types of nerves?

There are three types of nerves in the body:

  • Autonomic nerves. These nerves control the involuntary or partially voluntary activities of your body, including heart rate, blood pressure, digestion, and temperature regulation.
  • Motor nerves.
  • Sensory nerves.
You might be interested:  What Is The Meaning Of Joses?

What is a good mnemonic to remember the order of the CNS?

To remember whether the nerves are sensory nerves, motor nerves or have both, remember this mnemonic: ” Some say marry money but my brother says big brains matter more “. This assigns “s” to sensory, “m” to motor and “b” to both in the order of the cranial nerves.

What is the Glossopharyngeal?

The glossopharyngeal nerve is the 9th cranial nerve (CN IX). It is one of the four cranial nerves that has sensory, motor, and parasympathetic functions. It originates from the medulla oblongata and terminates in the pharynx.

What is Vestibulocochlear?

The vestibulocochlear nerve (auditory vestibular nerve), known as the eighth cranial nerve, transmits sound and equilibrium (balance) information from the inner ear to the brain.

How do you remember the 12 cranial nerves and their functions?

Mnemonic for Function of Cranial Nerves:

  1. Old: Olfactory.
  2. Operators: Optic.
  3. Occasionally: Oculomotor.
  4. Troubleshoot: Trochlear.
  5. Tricky: Trigeminal.
  6. Abducted: Abducens.
  7. Family: Facial.
  8. Veterans: Vestibulocochlear.

What is the function of Abducens nerve?

Cranial nerve six (CN VI), also known as the abducens nerve, is one of the nerves responsible for the extraocular motor functions of the eye, along with the oculomotor nerve (CN III) and the trochlear nerve (CN IV).

What are the 31 pairs of spinal nerves?

In humans there are 31 pairs: 8 cervical, 12 thoracic, 5 lumbar, 5 sacral, and 1 coccygeal. Each pair connects the spinal cord with a specific region of the body. Near the spinal cord each spinal nerve branches into two roots.

Written by

Leave a Reply